Kwanzaa is a holiday & a call to celebrate the richness of what it means to have African roots!

Kwanzaa is a seven-day African-American celebration of life from December 26th to January 1st!

Kwanzaa is less than 60 years old. Maulana Karenga, a Black nationalist who later became a college professor, created Kwanzaa as a way of uniting and empowering the African African community in the aftermath of the deadly Watts Rebellion.

Having modeled his holiday on traditional African harvest festivals, he took the name “Kwanzaa” from the Swahili phrase, “matunda ya kwanza,” which means “first fruits.” The extra “a” was added, Karenga has said, simply to accommodate seven children at the first-ever Kwanzaa celebration in 1966, each of whom wanted to represent a letter

Let it be clear::This celebration is not a religious one, but one for the culture!

The colors of Kwanzaa are a reflection of the Pan-African movementrepresenting “unity” for peoples of African descent worldwide:

🖤Black for the people

♥️red for the noble blood that unites all people of Africa ancestry

💚green for the rich land of Africa.

Kwanzaa Symbols
🕎Kinara — Candleholder; Represents Black people’s connection to the African continent.
🕯Mishumaa Saba — Seven Candles; Represent the principles or values Black people should live by.
🌽 Muhindi — Corn; Represents the future or children.
🌾Mazao — Crops; Represent African harvest celebrations.
⬛️Mkeka — Mat; Represents tradition and history.
🏆Kikombe Cha Umoja — Unity Cup; Represents togetherness, both the principle and practice.
🎁 Zawadi — Gifts; Represent the sacrifice and bond of parents and their children’s achievements.

Nguzo Saba: The Seven Principles

The Nguzo Saba (the seven principles) and their meanings are listed below in their original wording from 1966. Posters of the seven principles are often on display for Kwanzaa, alongside other trimmings. Umoja is celebrated on Dec. 26, Kujichagulia on Dec. 27 and so on until the end of the holiday on Jan. 1.

Umoja (Unity)

To strive for and maintain unity in family, community, nation, and race.

Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)

To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves and speak for ourselves.

Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)

To build and maintain our community together and make our brother’s and sister’s problems our problems and to solve them together.

Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)

To build and maintain our own stores, shops and other businesses and to profit from them together.

Nia (Purpose)

To make out collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.

Kuumba (Creativity)

To do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.

Imani (Faith)

To believe with all our heart in our people, our parents, our teachers, our leaders and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.

For more information visit

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published